National Parks- A Visual Feast

Feeding the birds at O’Reilly’s.

Note: Each photo links to a 2 minute video about the location pictured.

Having had a terrible camping experience some ten or more years ago, I swore that I would never go camping again. As for National Parks, well the thought of visiting them for a bush walk never really occurred to me. However, having taken up orienteering in recent years, the love of all things bush has grown within me. I decided to make my Long Service Leave all about National Parks. I am glad that I did.

The Pyramid- A Striking Landmark of Girraween National Park.

Apparently, just in South-East Queensland, there are some 25 or more National Parks. Within those Parks, there are bush walks on offer for anyone from beginners to serious hikers. Some are only a few hundred metres and paved, allowing access to strollers and wheel chairs. Others range in length and difficulty from an hour through to several days walk.

Purling Brook Falls impresses.

Adding to this holiday goal, was the opportunity to participate in my newest hobby- photography and movie making. As such, I have collated my National Park hikes into a serious of 2-3 minute videos. Each movie provides a simple and brief explanation of what that particular park has to offer, along with any important relevant information. They are free to watch and share and give you a preview of what to expect so that you can decide if you would like to visit.

Burleigh- beautiful and surprising!


As a teacher of digital technologies, I see DSLR cameras as a quality alternative to tablets for media creation. As such, this blog is not only an example of blogging, but also represents the kind of work that you can do with a camera and an editing program (in this case iMovie on a Mac).

Kondalilla-The trees astound all.

During this experience, I removed my 9 year old daughter from school for 2 weeks. I am happy to say that the entire experience was wonderful! Incredible views and nature, wildlife, challenges and yes, camping. It was all great! Best of all we had a quality, bonding time together.

Mt Cougal-For the thrill seekers!

The most recent movie was my most challenging. ‘Walking the Warrie Circuit’ is a visual and auditory experiment that represents the beauty and challenge of this 17km walk. My film making friend, Ben who is an excellent film maker, accompanied me, offering a great companion and excellent advice in what was a unique experience.

Fern on Warrie

Check the links to my various movies. I encourage you to follow in my footsteps. If you have been to any other National Parks in SE Qld, let me know. It is my goal to visit all of them and to try most of the walks within them.

Natural Bridge- An amazing half day trip.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *